2010 World Cup Results, World Cup Rosters

Andre Villas-Boas rules out Premier League return

Andre Villas-Boas has revealed he will not be managing another club in the Premier League, and says there is no stability in England.

Villas-Boas was dismissed as Tottenham manager in December after nearly 18 months at the club, while he was sacked as Chelsea manager in March 2012 after taking the position in June 2011.

He had been linked with the managerial position at West Brom, but has told talkSPORT that he will not be coming back to England.

“Yeah, most likely, I think so,” Villas-Boas replied when asked whether he had ruled out taking charge of another Premier League side.

“I had some great professional experiences in England with two of the greatest clubs in the world and I enjoyed my time there, but in reality I couldn’t achieve the success I wanted and I feel I’m in another place right now,” he added.

Villas-Boas hit out at two Daily Mail journalists at the beginning of December, and believes England has lost the stability it used to have in the past.

“England is a great country full of very open-minded people. But the reality is it [football] is a results driven business and you have to achieve that immediately because the world is about the next second,” he said.

“Unfortunately in England we are losing that era we had with the likes of Arsene Wenger of giving stability to managers. It’s not just related to clubs, but also to society. What is new is what is best.

“People expect change immediately and no time is given [to build] and when that is the case you can’t really judge people.”

And on his future plans, he said: “I will stop until June. It’s the right time to refresh myself and for me and my staff to discuss the next step.

“It’s important to take the next step carefully and choose well. We have had some contact already and I’m sure something good will happen for us. We have to look for a club with ambition to win trophies. I’m not too selective about what country [I work in next]. I’m open-minded to understanding what clubs want to achieve.”

Standard

Leave a comment